Although Windows Vista and Windows 7, 8, 8.1 does have its own disk management utility to create, resize and delete partitions, in some cases it is still pretty worthless.

I am using Windows 7 x64 Pro and I am facing this problem right now, as shown in the screenshot below.

Note that, my C: drive still has 57.81 GB of free space, but Windows 7 Disk Management tool isn’t allowing me to shrink the partition further. I was going to reduce the size of C: drive and increase the size of my Z: drive….and I am out of luck.

Prior to writing this post, I trusted Acronis Disk Director 9 or 10 to manage my partition. But since Acronis still doesn’t support Windows 7 x64, I often used Paragon. However, Paragon is more or less like GParted with a fancy and at times redundant partition manager, both are good open source partition managers, but they do take a long time to repartition a 1TB hdd especially if it full.

Hence, I moved on..and stumbled upon this nifty free partition manager for home (yes, guys you heard it right, FREE). It is known as Partition Wizard Home Edition v5.0.

This is the screen that will do everything. Pretty user-friendly.

My attempt to make the C: drive 50GB smaller. Just drag the slider.

And now moving on to create a larger Z drive,

Click yes…

and oops… it can’t resize C: drive while Windows is running..well..that is understandable. OK then…let’s click Restart Now. (owh..wait wait..better save this article first…phew..ok..lets restart).

Tick – tock – tick – tock…erm… after exactly 2 minutes and 51 seconds, it rebooted my PC.

And…holy crap of the cracker…

It successfully did resize my partition and that too in less than 3 minutes, where softwares like paragon and gparted take hours (yes, I am not kidding, hours. I had to let my PC run overnight and hope that there won’t be a power cut until my machine rebooted).

So, for those who are still looking for a partition manager that is free, has a small footprint, is light-weight but still effective (without any drama..owh..how i hate dramas when it does involve my hdd which literally contains my whole encrypted little world)
I do recommend this pioneer of free partition software.

